Through our exceptional health
care services, we reveal
the healing presence of God.

St. Mary's Perinatologist to Receive Champion in Women's Health Award 

The Wisconsin Women’s Health Foundation will honor eight individuals with Champion in Women’s Health Awards on Saturday evening, May 1 at the Madison Club.  St. Mary's Hospital & Dean Clinics Perinatologist, Dr. Susan Davidson, is one of those eight selected to receive the award.

Dr. Davidson has dedicated her career to improving the health of area women and their newborns. She founded the Perinatal Clinic at St. Mary’s Hospital in Madison 17 years ago, because she recognized that their Birth Center program was incomplete without expanded services for women with at-risk pregnancies. Dr. Davidson has further continued her compassionate care for new mothers and babies through projects in the community to enhance women’s health. Most recently, she took an active role in the Robert Wood Johnson Health and Scholar Project studying how to expand improved birth outcomes for African American women in Dane County to other areas. She is also helping to plan the emerging Dean & St. Mary’s Women and Children’s Comprehensive Clinical Center, providing coordinated and holistic health care for women and children throughout their lifespan. This Center will yield greater awareness and ease of access for patients, reduce variability among care providers and create a healthier population of women and children. For her work with women and families, particularly for the underserved, Dr. Susan R. Davidson was named a Champion in Women’s health for excellence in the area of general women’s health.

The Wisconsin Women’s Health Foundation created the Champion in Women’s Health Awards to honor individuals who have demonstrated extraordinary leadership in women’s health.

"We received Champion in Women’s Health nominations from all over the state," says Sue Ann Thompson. "After the difficult task of narrowing them down, we chose individuals who are instrumental in raising awareness of women’s health issues, expanding the base of knowledge about women’s health through their work, and impacting the quality of health care that Wisconsin women receive."

Nominated by their peers, the eight Champions are from six Wisconsin communities. The other award winners include:

  • Excellence in the area of Cancer: Ann B. Nattinger, MD, MPH – Lady Riders of Breast Cancer Research and Chief of General Internal Medicine, Medical College of Wisconsin, Milwaukee
  • Excellence in the area of General Women’s Health – Rising Star: Sara Finger-Warmuth – Executive Director, Wisconsin Alliance for Women’s Health, Madison
  • Excellence in the area of General Women’s Health – Lifetime Achievement Award: Gloria Sarto, MD – Professor Emeritus, Obstetrics & Gynecology, UW School of Medicine and Public Health, Madison
  • Excellence in the area of Rural Women’s Health:  Myron Gadke – Manager, Mobile Health Screening, Marshfield Clinic, Marshfield
  • Excellence in the area of Mental Health: Robyn Hussa – Executive Director, NORMAL in Schools, New Berlin
  • Excellence in Research & Policy in the area of Alcohol & Tobacco Cessation: Theresa Guilbert, MD, MS – Assistant Professor of Pediatrics, UW-Madison, Madison
  • Excellence in the area of Rural Women’s Health: Jeanette Olsen, BSN, RN – Healthier Cumberland Project Director, Cumberland

Champions will also be honored during the Wisconsin Women’s Health Foundation’s 11th Annual Spring Gala held at the State Capitol Rotunda from 7:30pm – midnight.

For more information visit the Wisconsin Women's Health Foundation.



St. Mary's Hospital     700 South Park Street     Madison, WI 53715-0450     (608) 251-6100
Copyright ©     St. Mary's Hospital
All Rights Reserved.     A Member of SSM Health
SSM Health Care Wisconsin